The non-perturbative optical technology

Based on the Pockels effect (interaction between an electric field and a laser beam), the non-perturbative optical technology of KAPTEOS is the result of fifteen years of research and development. Our award-winning technology allow to carry out interference-free and real-time electric field measurements with great accuracy in both vacuum, liquids, biological media and also under high voltage, high pressure, X-rays, gamma rays, i.e. usually referred to as harsh environment.

 

Non-perturbative optical technology:

KAPTEOS products

KAPTEOS probes are fully dielectric and embed a crystal which refractive index is modified with an applied electric field, thanks to the Pockels effect. A laser beam, passing through the crystal allows the optoelectronic converter eoSense to analyze this refractive index change and to deliver in real time and without any loss of information a voltage directly proportional to the measured component of the electric field vector. The link between the voltage delivered by the converter eoSense on the one hand, and the value of the electric field component measured by the probe eoProbe on the other hand, is called antenna factor: its value is provided by the converter which permits to correct any variation of the insertion loss of the measurement system in real time.

Non-perturbative optical technology:

application of Pockels effect

Even if the Pockels effect has been discovered in the nineteenth century (1893), the major innovation by KAPTEOS is the use of the laser polarization state as the information carrier for the electric field. This technology has been patented by KAPTEOS founders in 2006: it allows to make accurate and reliable measurements regardless the temperature (measurement repeatability of 0.15 dB, no matter the environmental conditions), unlike other methods, either based on phase modulation or amplitude modulation, as used in competing technologies.

 
Microphone
Testimonies

La technologie optique non perturbatrice KAPTEOS

Basée sur l'effet Pockels (interaction entre un champ électrique et un faisceau laser), la technologie optique non perturbatrice KAPTEOS est issue de quinze années de recherche et de développement. Mainte fois primée et reconnue, elle permet de réaliser des mesures de champ électrique non perturbatives, en temps réel, avec précision, aussi bien sous haute tension que dans le vide, les liquides, en milieux biologiques, en présence de rayons X ou gamma, à haute pression ; autant de conditions appelées communément "environnement sévère".

 

Technologie optique non perturbatrice :

les produits KAPTEOS

Les sondes KAPTEOS, intégralement diélectriques, intègrent un cristal dont l'indice de réfraction est modifié en présence d'un champ électrique, par effet Pockels. Un faisceau laser, envoyé au travers du cristal, permet au convertisseur opto-électronique eoSense d'analyser ce changement d'indice de réfraction et de délivrer, en temps réel et sans aucune perte d'information, une tension dont la valeur est l’image de l’évolution temporelle de la composante mesurée du champ électrique. Le lien entre la tension délivrée par le convertisseur eoSense et la valeur de champ électrique mesurée par la sonde eoProbe est appelé facteur d’antenne : sa valeur est fournie par le convertisseur corrigeant ainsi en temps réel toute variation de perte d’insertion du système

Technologie optique non perturbatrice :

la mise en application de l'effet Pockels

Si l'effet Pockels est une découverte datant du 19e siècle (1893), l'innovation de KAPTEOS réside dans l'utilisation de l'état de polarisation du laser comme support d'information du champ électrique. La technologie optique non perturbatrice, brevetée par les fondateurs de KAPTEOS en 2006, permet de réaliser des mesures fiables indépendamment de la température (reproductibilité de 0,15 dB quelles que soient les conditions environnementales), contrairement aux méthodes basées sur la modulation de phase ou d’amplitude telles qu’utilisées dans les technologies concurrentes.

 
Microphone
Témoignages