15 years of research

 

KAPTEOS technology

Based on the Pockels effect (interaction between an electric field and a laser beam), KAPTEOS technology is the result of fifteen years of research and development. Our award-winning technology allow to carry out interference-free and real-time electric field measurements with great accuracy in both vacuum, liquids, biological media and also under high voltage, high pressure, X-rays, gamma rays, i.e. usually referred to as harsh environment.

KAPTEOS probes are fully dielectric and embed a crystal which refractive index is modified with an applied electric field, thanks to the Pockels effect. A laser beam, passing through the crystal allows the optoelectronic converter eoSense to analyze this refractive index change and to deliver in real time and without any loss of information a voltage directly proportional to the measured component of the electric field vector. The link between the voltage delivered by the converter eoSense on the one hand, and the value of the electric field component measured by the probe eoProbe on the other hand, is called antenna factor: its value is provided by the converter which permits to correct any variation of the insertion loss of the measurement system in real time.

 

Even if the Pockels effect has been discovered in the nineteenth century (1893), the major innovation by KAPTEOS is the use of the laser polarization state as the information carrier for the electric field. This technology has been patented by KAPTEOS founders in 2006: it allows to make accurate and reliable measurements regardless the temperature (measurement repeatability of 0.15 dB, no matter the environmental conditions), unlike other methods, either based on phase modulation or amplitude modulation, as used in competing technologies.

 

Testimonies

Kapteos has scientific expertise, technical and industrial capabilities to provide reliable devices and to develop prototypes of probes adapted to the specific and challenging constraints of MRI. The simulating discussions and intense thinking with members of Kapteos allow us to consider the constraints of MRI security in different ways.

Dr Olivier BEUF, Laboratory director

MRI - CREATIS - Villeurbanne (FR)

The exceptional metrological capacities of the E-field measurement system provided by Kapteos permits us to develop a new expertise in the field of High Voltage engineering. The high resolution of the Kapteos EO sensor allowed us to measure precisely the E-field distribution along different HV equipment. New researches were made possible thanks to Kapteos technical and cooperative support, which expertise in the E-field measurement is unique.

Dr Christophe VOLAT, Laboratory director

High voltage - UQAC - Chicoutimi (CA)

In our Radiation Oncology department, SAR pattern of hyperthermia applicators must be well characterized. We found the Kapteos company the most competitive and attractive one. Besides a state of the art 3D E-field measurement system, the company offered a very cooperative and helpful support for further optimization of the E-field system to our requirements.

Dr Otilia VOIGT

SAR - Uniklinikum - Tübingen (DE)

Kapteos probes allowed us to easily access to the measurement of the transient electric fields (ns/µs, kV/100 kV domains) generated by our plasma jets at atmospheric pressure. We particularly appreciated the spatial resolution that allowed us to draw precise spatiotemporal maps which are very useful in our experiments on plasmas in interaction with biological targets.

Dr Jean-Michel POUVESLE

Plasma - GREMI - Orléans (FR)

 

© 2020 by KAPTEOS. Created with Wix.com

legal information

15 années de recherche

 

La technologie KAPTEOS

Basée sur l'effet Pockels (interaction entre un champ électrique et un faisceau laser), la technologie KAPTEOS est issue de quinze années de recherche et de développement. Mainte fois primée et reconnue, elle permet de réaliser des mesures de champ électrique non perturbatives, en temps réel, avec précision, aussi bien sous haute tension que dans le vide, les liquides, en milieux biologiques, en présence de rayons X ou gamma, à haute pression ; autant de conditions appelées communément "environnement sévère".

Les sondes KAPTEOS, intégralement diélectriques, intègrent un cristal dont l'indice de réfraction est modifié en présence d'un champ électrique, par effet Pockels. Un faisceau laser, envoyé au travers du cristal, permet au convertisseur opto-électronique eoSense d'analyser ce changement d'indice de réfraction et de délivrer, en temps réel et sans aucune perte d'information, une tension dont la valeur est l’image de l’évolution temporelle de la composante mesurée du champ électrique. Le lien entre la tension délivrée par le convertisseur eoSense et la valeur de champ électrique mesurée par la sonde eoProbe est appelé facteur d’antenne : sa valeur est fournie par le convertisseur corrigeant ainsi en temps réel toute variation de perte d’insertion du système.

 

Si l'effet Pockels est une découverte datant du 19e siècle (1893), l'innovation de KAPTEOS réside dans l'utilisation de l'état de polarisation du laser comme support d'information du champ électrique. Technologie brevetée par les fondateurs de KAPTEOS en 2006, elle permet de réaliser des mesures fiables indépendamment de la température (reproductibilité de 0,15 dB quelles que soient les conditions environnementales), contrairement aux méthodes basées sur la modulation de phase ou d’amplitude telles qu’utilisées dans les technologies concurrentes.

 

Témoignages

Kapteos possède une expertise scientifique, des capacités techniques et industrielles pour fournir des appareils fiables et développer des prototypes de sondes adaptés aux contraintes spécifiques et exigeantes de l'IRM. Les discussions stimulantes et la réflexion intense avec les membres de Kapteos nous permettent de considérer les contraintes de la sécurité IRM de différentes manières.

Dr Olivier BEUF, Directeur de laboratoire

IRM - CREATIS - Villeurbanne (FR)

Les capacités métrologiques exceptionnelles du système de mesure de champ électrique fourni par Kapteos nous permettent de développer une nouvelle expertise dans le domaine de l'ingénierie Haute Tension. La haute résolution du capteur Kapteos nous a permis de mesurer avec précision la distribution du champ E le long de différents équipements haute tension. De nouvelles recherches ont été rendues possibles grâce au soutien technique et coopératif de Kapteos, dont l'expertise dans la mesure du champ E est unique.

Dr Christophe VOLAT, Directeur de laboratoire

Haute tension - UQAC - Chicoutimi (CA)

Dans notre service de radio-oncologie, le modèle DAS des applicateurs d'hyperthermie doit être bien caractérisé. Nous avons trouvé la société Kapteos la plus compétitive et la plus attractive. Outre un système de mesure de champ électrique 3D à la pointe de la technologie, la société a offert un soutien très coopératif et utile pour une optimisation plus poussée du système de champ électrique selon nos besoins.

Dr Otilia VOIGT

DAS - Uniklinikum - Tübingen (DE)

Les sondes Kapteos nous ont permis d'accéder facilement à la mesure des champs électriques transitoires (ns / µs, domaines kV / 100 kV) générés par nos jets de plasma à pression atmosphérique. Nous avons particulièrement apprécié la résolution spatiale qui nous a permis de tracer des cartes spatio-temporelles précises qui sont très utiles dans nos expériences sur les plasmas en interaction avec des cibles biologiques.

Dr Jean-Michel POUVESLE

Plasma froid - GREMI - Orléans (FR)

 

©2020 par KAPTEOS. Créé avec Wix.com

Informations légales